The Relative Comment

soothing waves of relativity

Happy Christmas to the least successful war in history

leave a comment »

Here’s a couple things about TRC: I love Christmas, and I love the separation of Church and State. It’s true. They are both lovely things.  Unfortunately, the former causes all kinds of trouble for the latter. And it leads to situations in the US where “news” personalities start up controversies to rile people up. This is only the explanation I have for the phrase “the war on Christmas” being a real phrase.

Said the Fox News Bill:  “[I]t’s all part of the secular progressive agenda … to get Christianity and spirituality and Judaism out of the public square.” He then added: “[B]ecause if you look at what happened in Western Europe and Canada, if you can get religion out, then you can pass secular progressive programs, like legalization of narcotics, euthanasia, abortion at will, gay marriage, because the objection to those things is religious-based, usually.” 

Yes. This is what Bill O’Reilly thinks is happening in this country. Secular progressives (like me) are waging war to rid the public square of Christianity, Spirituality, and Judaism (?). Why? So I can finally use tons of narcotics, euthanize populations I do not like, abort so many fetuses you don’t even know what, and gay marry whomever I want whenever I want. You pegged me Bill.

The cultural warriors who are defending Christmas from the secular war are almost adorable. And they should relax. Because there is no war on Christmas. Or if there is, it is the least successful war ever waged in history. Look around, America, Christmas is everywhere. And I for one, don’t mind. Christmas is certainly not losing any ground in the non-existent war. So cheer up. Drink a rum and nog, and have a happy Christmas.

I share my Christmas well-wishes with a greeting card from NASA, featuring a Hubble Telescope image. SCIENCE CHRISTMAS TO ALL and to ALL A GOOD NIGHT!

Written by Christopher ZF

December 22, 2011 at 13:03

Leave a Reply

