The Relative Comment

soothing waves of relativity

a Thanksgiving post

leave a comment »

Here’s some sincerity for your holiday season. Thanksgiving is probably the best holiday. Granted, it is not TRC’s favorite, but overall it likely is the best. Because the only purpose of this holiday is to get together with loved ones, eat, relax, be grateful, eat, that’s it. There’s no silliness. Just be happy for the life you have, and enjoy the company of loved ones.

With that, here are a few things that TRC is grateful for on this 2011 Thanksgiving.

I’m thankful for my wife, Mrs. TRC. That she is alive and well and happy (I hope). This is the first year I’ve had to consider such a thing.
I’m thankful for the friends and family of TRC. That we’ve had another year together.
I’m thankful that my life, day to day, is lived in peace.
For my job, in my field, doing something I care about.
For the continued to desire to learn and grow. To shift from being certain about things that I knew, to doubting those things for the sake of further knowledge, which hopefully will one day I will doubt just as sincerely, as the cycle continues. Which is to say, I’m thankful for science, and for the arts, for new knowledge, and for books that force their readers into the muck.
I’m very, very thankful for the system of the US government, for three separate, but equal branches. Especially this year.
I’m thankful for President Obama, despite all the reasons to be upset. Which I am. But I’m glad he’s our president. I’m thankful that he has been a strong leader for the US, that he carefully and thoughtfully executes his military leadership, and wants to bring home our deployed military.
That David Foster Wallace and Doris Kearns Goodwin wrote Infinite Jest and Team of Rivals, respectfully. The best books I read of late, and boy were they good ones.
For living in Minnesota, for having trees and woods and rivers and lakes and the Boundary Waters at such close call, while living in a city I love for its size, its history, and its beauty.
And finally, for being fortunate enough in my life to be able to give thanks for such things.

Too many people cannot be thankful for any of these reasons. Too many people have suffered, starved, been fired, lost their loved ones, gone to war, fought in war, died in war. Too many people do not get the luxury to read 1000 page books and dissect US history, or bonkers fiction like DFW, or to sit and doubt and pick apart their beliefs for the good of one’s spiritual life, to enjoy the woods, to camp or canoe. Too many people are struggling to live. Which I hope not to forget, as I am eating my turkey tomorrow.

Above all, I am thankful for the things that I take for granted, and hope to always be mindful, and grateful, for those things.

Happy T-Day.

Written by Christopher ZF

November 23, 2011 at 09:47

Posted in Personal Entry

Leave a Reply

